how recover-ability actually works within SharePoint Online.
Site Collection Restore
- Contact Microsoft Support for assistance with possible data loss issues. They will work with you to assess the best route to restore the desired content, whether that be versioning, the recycle bin, or an actual restore.
- Backups are retained for 14 days, so the sooner we can get started with data gathering the better.
- By default Sites, Lists, Libraries, Folders, Items and Documents will all go into the recycle bin.
- If an end user empties his recycle bin, the content will be transferred into the site collection recycle bin.
- A site collection administrator is able to restore items from the site collection recycle bin.
- Items that have been deleted into the recycle bin will remain there for 93 days.
- The 93 days is the total length regardless weather the items are in the user recycle bin or in the site collection recycle bin.
- It is possible to turn on versioning on documents and items in SharePoint Online.
- If versioning is turned on and no limit has been set on the amount of versions to keep, you can go back in time for as long as you want.
- If you delete something into the recycle bin, all versions will be delete as well.
- If you restore something from the recycle bin back into a library, all versions will be restore as well.
- If you have set to keep only 3 major and 3 minor versions, the oldest versions will be purged once a new version is being created.